Be Enterprising. But don’t be Too Literal …

6 Jul

My day job involves fostering enterprise and ethical trading. Meaning that yesterday, I was all smiles when I saw a few of the locals in Addingham selling food and drink over their garden walls – to the thousands of people who have descended upon Yorkshire for the first leg of the Tour de France here.

I was gagging for a drink and had forgotten to pack my water bottle. So I nudged my 9 yr old (who is dyslexic and who also has a dab of dyscalculia – like her dear old mum) to accompany me to make a wee purchase and work out the change da dee dah.

We approached a local chappie who had set out a little table on the side of the street.

DAUGHTER: A bottle of water please. Is it fair trade water?

MAN: Dunno, actually. Can you get fair trade water?

DAUGHTER: Oh, believe me. You can get fair trade anything! So, if it isn’t … and if it’s a bad company what harms people with their water … my dad’ll have ’em for it – yeah?

MAN: Right… That’s 70 pence, my love.

DAUGHTER: (hands over correct money!) There you go.

MAN: Ta. Tell all your friends won’t you?

DAUGHTER: I will do. But it’s probably a bit pointless because it’ll be Monday- when I’m back at school. And none of them are old enough to come to Addingham on their own. And anyway – are you still going to be sitting here then? Selling water?

(Moral of the Story – Tell the world that dyslexic people tend to take things very literally …)

Stop! The water we have here in our Yorkshire taps is far nicer and cheaper than your bottled stuff!

Stop! The water we have here in our Yorkshire taps is far nicer and cheaper than your bottled stuff!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

